This is not a Weight Loss blog (and other disclaimers before we get started)

Yes, I’m yet another wellness blogger (because that’s exactly what this platform needs) and I decided to occupy this little corner of the internet after battling with finding a good balance in life, mostly to do with eating habits and the other side of the coin – fitness.

I guess this is the time to tell you a little bit about myself. I won’t go at great length because I believe my journey deserves a whole post to itself. In brief: it’s a tale as old as time – former fat kid goes on a rampage of yoyo dieting and failed 1st of January bucket-lists with false hopes of gym memberships and a ripped summer body. All throughout my childhood and teenage years I struggled to find the perfect quick fix to problems that were frankly a fabrication of my indoctrinated mind. It all culminated in my early twenties with a sturdy freshmen 15, a few months of Herbalife protein shakes, and overexercising, thinking I’d get to look like a fitness model overnight.

Enough was enough!

It’s been a full year since I decided to leave all my toxic behaviors behind and tune in with my own body and what it needs, all for wellness rather than fitness (although they are not mutually exclusive!)

How did I do it?

By trying to be a better me day after day. Educating myself as time went played a big role. Alas, the internet is full of diet tips and fitness shortcuts, recipes for green juices that promise to trim your waist in half and unsustainable fitness challenges. I remember being at my lowest, desperately trying to weed out what I thought was legitimate information, from marketing tactics trying to sell the latest miraculous appetite-suppressant.

But somehow I made it out of the jungle that is the food and fitness industries.

Misinformation is still out there and most people get too caught up in the latest trend to find the common sense in their day-to-day habits. This is why I decided to make this blog, to shine some light on the things I’ve learned throughout my journey and give my two cents on it.

Big BUT here: This is not a weight loss blog. As I found equilibrium within myself, I realized that loosing the actual weight played a minuscule part in it. I’m not going to deny that it did play a part in it, but not for the aesthetic reasons everyone seems to obsess over.

So yes, this is not a weight loss blog because the internet doesn’t need another preachy “expert” giving anecdotal advice masked as “facts”, when all I did was eat more veg and do some exercise.

I’m just trying my hand at this to share my journey and if I motivate even one person with what I write, then my time here was well worth it.

These being said, everything I’m going to share is my own experience and my opinion. I’ll try to be as respectful and educated as I can, but, as everything you read on this big world wide web, you should take it with a grain of salt. And it definitely goes both ways: I am very open to discussion.

Let the journey begin!

2 thoughts on “This is not a Weight Loss blog (and other disclaimers before we get started)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started